EYFS Curriculum

Addlestone Pre-School follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) when planning the weeks activities.

What to expect, when? A parent's guide

The purpose of this booklet is to help you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS. Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time. This booklet has been written to help you as a parent know what to expect during these vitally important years by focusing on the seven areas of learning and development which are covered in the EYFS.

Area of Learning & Development

Area of Learning & Development


Personal, Social & Emotional Development
Making relationships
Self-confidence & Self-awareness
Managing feelings & behaviours
Physical Development Moving & handling
Health & Self-Care
Communication & Language Listening & Attention

Specific Areas

Literacy Reading
Mathematics Numbers
Shapes, Space & Measure
Understanding the World People & Communities
The World
Expressive Arts & Design Exploring & Using media and materials
Being imaginative